Start

An Exhibition About Survivors of Sexual Violence 

Troughout the world, the systematic abuse of female bodies is a particularly brutal exercise of power and violence. The exhibition series “MuEon DaEon l From Speechless to Many Voices” deals with sexual violence in both armed conflicts and during times of peace.

From January 10, 2019 we will exhibit the work “Seven Sisters” and “Full Moon” by kate hers RHEE and “Face to Face” by Tsukasa Yajima.

MuEon DaEon Exhibition
Exhibition MuEon DaEon,
photo: Aleks Slota

Exhibition MuEon DaEon,
photo: Aleks Slota

The triumph over silence by the “comfort women”

During the Asia-Pacific War (1937-1945), about 200,000 girls and women were forced into sexual slavery by the Japanese military. Behind the euphemism of the term “comfort women” hides the idea: the soldiers threatened by death should be “consoled” by sexual services. The majority of abducted women were not able to survive the systematic brutal abuse. The Japanese government still refuses to recognize the military sexual slavery system as a war crime. On January 8, 1992 survivors and activists began to speak out in front of the Japanese Embassy, and have continued the demonstration every Wednesday for the past 27 years. It is an act of overcoming the sense of shame and empowering victims to become activists.

The two artists kate hers RHEE and Tsukasa Yajima deal with the process of survivors breaking their silence and beginning to speak out in different ways, as the feeling of powerlessness and absolute speechlessness (MuEon) finds its expression through many voices (DaEon).


Sponsors and Cooperation Partners

Korea Stiftung
Stiftung Umverteilen
House of Sharing
Foundation for Justice and Remembrance

Start

Eine Ausstellung über die Überlebenden sexualisierter Gewalt 

Überall auf der Welt ist der systematische Missbrauch weiblicher Körper ein Mittel besonders brutaler Macht- und Gewaltausübung. Die Ausstellungsreihe „MuEon DaEon | Sprachlos Vielstimmig“ in den Räumen des Korea Verbands widmet sich der Kontinuität sexualisierter Gewalt nicht nur in Krisen und Kriegen, sondern auch in Friedenszeiten.

Zum Auftakt zeigen wir vom 10. Januar bis 8. März 2019 die Arbeiten „Seven Sisters“ und„Full Moon“von kate hers RHEE und „Von Angesicht zu Angesicht“ von Tsukasa Yajima.

Blick in die Ausstellung, Foto: Aleks Slota
Blick in die Ausstellung, Foto: Aleks Slota

Der Triumph der „Trostfrauen“ über das Schweigen

Während des Asien-Pazifik Krieges (1937-1945) wurden etwa 200.000 Mädchen und Frauen vom japanischen Militär in die sexuelle Sklaverei gezwungen. Hinter der beschönigenden Bezeichnung „Trostfrauen“ versteckte sich die Vorstellung: Die vom Tod bedrohten Soldaten sollen durch sexuelle Dienste „getröstet“ werden. Die Mehrheit der verschleppten Frauen hat den systematischen brutalen Missbrauch nicht überlebt. Die japanische Regierung weigert sich dennoch bis heute, es als Kriegsverbrechen anzuerkennen. Am 8. Januar 1992 begannen die Überlebenden gemeinsam mit Aktivist*innen vor der japanischen Botschaft ihre Stimmen zu erheben und tun dies nun jeden Mittwoch seit 27 Jahren. Es ist ein Akt der Überwindung des Schamgefühls und der Ermächtigung von Opfern zu Aktivistinnen.

Die beiden Künstler*innen kate hers RHEE und Tsukasa Yajima setzen sich auf unterschiedliche Art mit dem Prozess auseinander, wie das Gefühl der Ohnmacht und der absoluten Sprachlosigkeit (MuEon) durch vielfältige Stimmen (DaEon) seinen Ausdruck findet.


Gefördert und unterstützt von